Sunday, 18 September 2016

Northern Pits: juvenile Marsh Harrier, 9 Dunlin, 3 Common Sandpipers, 3+ Snipe, 3 Little Egrets, 13 Yellow-legged Gulls.

Saturday, 17 September 2016

Northern Pits: 2 Hobbies, juvenile Ruff, Common Sandpiper, Snipe, Barnacle Goose and Wheatear.

Friday, 16 September 2016

Northern Pits: juvenile Whinchat, 7 Black-tailed Godwits, 8 Dunlin and Hobby.

Thursday, 15 September 2016

Little Paxton village: Green Sandpiper heard calling overhead at 8:30pm.

Wednesday, 14 September 2016

Heronry South: GREAT WHITE EGRET again today and showing well.

Tuesday, 13 September 2016

Northern Pits: 2 juvenile Black Terns, c.12 Yellow-legged Gulls, 3 juvenile Ruff, Common Sandpiper and 3 Little Grebes on new workings; 9 Common Terns flew high east & 44 Yellow Wagtails flew north in one flock.

Monday, 12 September 2016

Northern Pits: juvenile Black Tern this evening; also Egyptian Goose, adult Hobby, 2 Greenshank, 4 Common Sandpipers, 3+ Little Egrets, 2 Kingfishers, single Swift, c.60 Yellow Wagtails over & 2 Cetti's Warblers.

Juvenile Black Tern at the new workings
  this evening © Martin Davis

Sunday, 11 September 2016

Little Paxton village: Hobby flew low west in evening.

Hayling Pit: Water Rail calling.

Friday, 9 September 2016

Heronry South: GREAT WHITE EGRET with 4 Little Egrets this evening, viewable from the Kingfisher hide.

Great White (right) and Little Egrets feeding
 at Heronry South Pit © John Cheney.




Thursday, 8 September 2016

Heronry South: GREAT WHITE EGRET at 19:35.

Great White Egret, Heronry South © Stuart Elsom

Wednesday, 7 September 2016

Northern Pits: Little Stint with 4+ Common Sandpipers in evening, plus Greenshank, 3 Snipe, female Pintail, 2 Kingfishers, 3 juvenile Little Grebes and 12+ Yellow Wagtails.

Great Meadow: juvenile Hobby in evening, then flew east.

Tuesday, 6 September 2016

Heronry South: 2 Spotted Flycatchers in dead trees near the dragonfly pond.

Friday, 2 September 2016

Northern Pits: Osprey and 2 Whinchats around north end in afternoon.

Friday, 26 August 2016

Northern Pits: single female/immature CROSSBILL flew low north mid morning; also GREAT WHITE EGRET still, Whimbrel, 3 Greenshank, 2 Common Sandpipers, Barnacle Goose and 6+ Yellow Wagtails.

Wednesday, 24 August 2016

Northern Pits: Turnstone heard calling, 2 Greeshank, Redshank, 2 Green Sandpipers, 2 Common Sandpipers, 4 Ringed Plover, 2 Little Ringed Plover, plus 9 Hobbies hunting together low over new workings just before dusk.